2024 Terrigal Woman Of The Year Announced

29 Feb 2024

Louise Vangestel has today been recognised as the 2024 Terrigal Woman of the Year for significant contributions to the community.

Ms. Vangestel was instrumental in establishing the Tarragal Outrigger Canoe Club, which has a focus on supporting not just the community but local Indigenous youth in partnership with the Frank Baxter Youth Justice Centre and Bara Barang Corporation.


Member for Terrigal Adam Crouch said choosing a nominee for Woman of the Year was the most difficult yet.


“We have so many amazing women who were nominated for Terrigal Woman of the Year and it was truly a challenge to choose just one woman as the Terrigal Woman of the Year.”


“All of this year’s nominees have made such an incredible contribution across so many different volunteer organisations in our region and I’m so proud to represent a community with so many outstanding women in it.”


“Louise Vangestel has made an incredible contribution to our community and a truly outstanding nominee for Terrigal Woman of the Year 2024.” Mr Crouch said.


In total there were a dozen Terrigal Woman of the Year nominations across the electorate from various local organisations and businesses:


  1. Louise Vangestel from Tarragal Outrigger Canoe Club
  2. Beris Meldrum from Terrigal Surf Life Saving Club
  3. Elizabeth Gabriel from Australian Reptile Park
  4. Fiona Duignan from Copacabana Surf Life Saving Club
  5. Gail Santi from Springfield Residents Association
  6. Judith Andrews from Central Coast Living Options
  7. Julie Redfern from Terrigal Surf Life Saving Club
  8. Lyn Drummond from Macmasters Beach Surf Life Saving Club
  9. Maggie Vincent from the 3 Villages Community Group
  10. Taia Sansom from the 3 Villages Community Group
  11. Tammy Jackett from Wiseberry Peninsula
  12. Jenny McCulla from the Davistown Progress Association


Ms. Vangestel will join Mr. Crouch at the NSW Women of the Year Awards Ceremony at the International Convention Centre in Sydney on 7th of March 2024.